Now Reading
Philips BT50B Wireless Portable Bluetooth Speaker Review

Big sound that fits in a fist.
Overview
Speciality

Anti-clipping feature

Bluetooth

Yes

Battery

1 Lithium ion battery (6 Hours)

Weight

90g

Dimensions

6.1 x 6.1 x 7.6 cm

Power Output

2 Watts

Positives

Light weight and compact

Anti-clipping feature

Color combinations

Clean sound

Low price

Negatives

No volume control

Minimal bass

Our Rating
User Rating
Rate Here
Design
8.5
6.5
Durability
8.0
6.4
Sound
9.0
4.4
Value for money
8.5
6.9
Bottom Line

The Philips BT50B can be a smart choice for all those who listen to multiple genres and like to carry around their speakers. With the quirky design, vibrant colours, extra clean sound and compactness it is certainly up to mark when it comes to a wireless portable bluetooth speaker.

8.5
Our Rating
6.1
User Rating
4 ratings
You have rated this
Review

With the evolution of technology, audio industry has taken itself to a whole another level which you would never have imagined 10 years ago. Making a speaker “wireless” has become elementary now and the real challenge is to make it compact and portable yet loud and affordable. Philips BT50B is one such speaker competing in the category of compact and portable speakers. Lets take a deeper dive and see what BT50B has to offer.

What’s in the box?

The Philips BT50B package comes with a USB cable for charging, a worldwide warranty leaflet and a quick install guide. Sadly the USB cable does not come with an adapter but it’s not going to be a major issue since everybody has it lying around these days if you own a smartphone.

Philips-BT%)B-Accessories

Design & Features

About the speaker, holding BT50B in hand feels satisfying. It has a really smooth yet grippy surface because of the soft matte finish on the body. The speaker is made up of plastic which makes it quiet delicate. The speaker has a quirky design and has a cylindrical shape with the speaker driver facing upwards and the speaker grill which is also made up of plastic. The size of the speaker is much smaller that a soda can and will easily fit in your palm. Philips BT50B is extremely light weight, weighing only 90 grams. The bottom of the speaker has a rubber padding that prevents it from slipping away. The Philips BT50B is meant to be used in a vertically erect position which gives the sound output a surround effect.

On the front side of the speaker, right below the Philips logo there is an:
1. LED indicator that turns to white when used in aux mode and turn blue when used in bluetooth mode.
2. Three way switch that says OFF, aux input, and bluetooth.
3. Round button which is to be used for bluetooth pairing.

Unfortunately there is no volume control keys and also the LED does not indicate the battery level, so there is no way to tell when battery gets low.

On the back side there is a USB charging port and a aux input port. The bluetooth range of the speaker is upto 10 meters and is feasible enough. Philips claims upto 6 hours of operating time on battery but it can vary between 5 to 7 hours depending on your usage and is admirable.

It is available in plain black colour and other bright and vibrant colour combinations such as white and grey, aqua blue and fluorescent green, and orange and grey (the prices may differ on the basis of colour). The most important and standout feature of the Philips BT50B is the anti-clipping function that keeps your speaker safe from damage by high volume distortion and gives you a mellow listening experience.

How does it sound?

If we talk about the sound, Philips BT50B is a shockingly loud speaker for its small size. But because of its small size there is not much room for bass, which might disappoint some people. Anyway you cannot expect much from a speaker at this price range and knowing how compact and portable it is. The bass output of the speaker is minimal but there is perfectly balanced highs and mids to compensate. Rather than being bass oriented, Philips BT50B has a crisp clean and crunchy sound. Thanks to the anti-clipping function which helps deliver clear sound even at high volumes. The speaker is loud enough to fill a room and is conveniently portable for outdoor use. The bass of the speaker might not give a punch but the crisp clean sound will definitely take you on a mellow trip.

Buy Now OR Add to Cart

Buy now from amazon Go To Store
Buy now from Flipkart Go To Store

What's your reaction?
Love It
100%
Want It
0%
Had It
0%
Hate It
0%
21 Comments
Leave a response
  • November 11, 2017 at 8:55 pm
    Positives

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for homescapes app download

    Negatives

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for
    homescapes app download

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for homescapes app download

  • November 12, 2017 at 11:00 am
    Positives

    Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the
    issues. It was definitely informative. Your website is very helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Negatives

    Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is very helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is
    very helpful. Thank you for sharing!

  • November 12, 2017 at 9:30 pm
    Positives

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I'm trying to find out if its a problem on my end
    or if it's the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

    Negatives

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this
    blog loading? I'm trying to find out if its a problem on my end or
    if it's the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end
    or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  • December 9, 2017 at 7:43 pm
    Positives

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog
    and find most of your post's to be precisely what I'm looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn't mind composing a post or elaborating on many
    of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome web log!

    Negatives

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post's to be precisely what I'm looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content for you?

    I wouldn't mind composing a post or elaborating on many
    of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again,
    awesome web log!

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your
    post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Does one offer
    guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects
    you write in relation to here. Again, awesome web log!

  • December 12, 2017 at 10:33 am
    Positives

    Someone essentially assist to make critically articles I
    might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and to
    this point? I surprised with the research you made
    to create this particular post extraordinary. Wonderful job!

    Negatives

    Someone essentially assist to make critically articles I might state.

    That is the very first time I frequented
    your web page and to this point? I surprised with the research
    you made to create this particular post extraordinary.

    Wonderful job!

    Someone essentially assist to make critically articles I might
    state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point?
    I surprised with the research you made to create this particular
    post extraordinary. Wonderful job!

  • December 13, 2017 at 12:13 pm
    Positives

    Hi there! Quick question that's completely
    off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My web site looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone.
    I'm trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to
    correct this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Thanks!

    Negatives

    Hi there! Quick question that's completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My web site looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone.
    I'm trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this problem.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thanks!

    Hi there! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My web site looks weird when browsing from my apple
    iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this problem.

    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thanks!

  • December 19, 2017 at 3:10 am
    Positives

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I've included you guys to my own blogroll.

    Negatives

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I've included you guys to my own blogroll.

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to my
    own blogroll.

  • December 23, 2017 at 12:07 pm
    Positives

    There is definately a great deal to find out about this subject.
    I love all the points you made.

    Negatives

    There is definately a great deal to find out about this subject.

    I love all the points you made.

    There is definately a great deal to find out about this
    subject. I love all the points you made.

  • agen judi online
    January 3, 2018 at 4:11 pm
    Positives

    A person necessarily assist to make critically posts I would state.
    That is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now?
    I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular post amazing.

    Fantastic task!

    Negatives

    A person necessarily assist to make critically posts I would state.
    That is the first time I frequented your web page and
    up to now? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular post
    amazing. Fantastic task!

    A person necessarily assist to make critically posts I would state.
    That is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now?
    I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular post amazing.
    Fantastic task!

  • crystal salt lamp reviews
    January 4, 2018 at 7:56 am
    Positives

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which
    blog platform are you using for this website? I'm getting fed up of Wordpress because I've had problems
    with hackers and I'm looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Negatives

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic
    but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I'm getting fed up of Wordpress because I've had problems with hackers and I'm
    looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but
    I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a
    good platform.

  • January 6, 2018 at 2:17 pm
    Positives

    Asking questions are really nice thing if you are not understanding anything totally,
    but this post offers fastidious understanding yet.

    Negatives

    Asking questions are really nice thing if you are not understanding anything totally, but this post offers fastidious
    understanding yet.

    Asking questions are really nice thing if you are not
    understanding anything totally, but this post offers fastidious understanding yet.

  • January 6, 2018 at 6:53 pm
    Positives

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account
    it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

    Negatives

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

  • January 8, 2018 at 8:07 pm
    Positives

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it's rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

    Negatives

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the
    layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it's rare to see a great blog
    like this one nowadays.

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your
    blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

  • January 12, 2018 at 10:16 pm
    Positives

    I have read so many articles on the topic
    of the blogger lovers however this paragraph is truly a
    pleasant piece of writing, keep it up.

    Negatives

    I have read so many articles on the topic of the blogger lovers however this paragraph is truly a pleasant
    piece of writing, keep it up.

    I have read so many articles on the topic of the blogger lovers however this
    paragraph is truly a pleasant piece of writing, keep it up.

  • Anonymous
    January 18, 2018 at 4:54 am
    Positives

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the rest of the site is extremely
    good.

    Negatives

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the rest of the site is extremely good.

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the rest of the site is extremely good.

  • Kennith
    January 18, 2018 at 12:16 pm
    Positives

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for NYC Criminal
    Lawyer

    Negatives

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching
    for NYC Criminal Lawyer

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for NYC
    Criminal Lawyer

  • January 31, 2018 at 5:37 am
    Positives

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your blog? My blog is in the very same
    niche as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from a
    lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with
    you. Many thanks!

    Negatives

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources
    back to your blog? My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Many thanks!

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?
    My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from a lot of
    the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Many thanks!

    • admin
      January 31, 2018 at 9:27 pm

      I won’t mind mentioning source links but the duplicate content in that quantity might hurt my SEO performance.

Leave a Response

Design
Durability
Sound
Value for money